Home Forums ICA Arabic ICA Arabic Community Rules Contact us English French

It is currently Tue Mar 19, 2024 2:01 pm

• All times are UTC

Canaryfans

Post subject: Taming problems
PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2008 12:14 am 

Topics: 44

Hi everybody ,

In this topic we will discuss taming problems that we might face during handfeeding our baby parrots !

As a beginner in handfeeding , the whole process isn't very easy for you . And you will enter a twister full of perplexing questions . So I decided to put the problems that faced me when I was a beginner in a question and answer form .

1- What sort of food should I feed my parrot ?

- Handfeeding formula is the best food you can offer your parrot , and if its not available in your country you can use the human baby formula ( Nestle or any other brand but only with wheat ) . Plus adding some ground calcareous during preparing the formula or you can use any source of calcium as a substitute . This is the main formula that should be fed daily . From time to time you can add a bit of honey as a natural source of carbohydrates .

2- What's the best tool I can use in handfeeding ?

- There are several tools that you can use in handfeeding your baby bird , but in my opinion a syringe is the best as it's easy to use , besides it never harms birds beaks . A spoon might result in a beak flexure .

3- How much food should I feed my bird ?

- Each bird has his own size , as a result the quantity of food required for a bird won't be the same for another bird . So to overcome that problem , we feed the bird until its crop is full but we should take care not to let the food reach the birds neck . Then after the bird digests the food and its crop is almost empty we start feeding him the next meal and so on .. !
We shouldn't make a schedule for the bird to eat on , not to let the bird feel hungry .

4- How do I use the syringe ?